Tai Chi keeps you moving

Physical activity is important for everyone, regardless of age. Regular physical activity has been cited for keeping many diseases and even mental issues at bay. However, seniors have it the hardest when it comes to finding activities that keep them moving while keeping their risk of injury at a minimum. Enter Tai Chi!

This ancient form has been used for centuries by the elderly worldwide (not just in China) to help keep them mobile and active, and even Vancouver has its own club, one that’s been engaging seniors for 40 years. Called the International Taoist Tai Chi Society, the group has been helping keep many seniors with their physical and mental upkeep to great success.

Says Tai Chi instructor Marj Sutherland: “It keeps my body working, it keeps my mind in a positive place, it gives me a social connection. And all of these things, we need in our lives. It’s just a matter that it helped me not be fussed about anything, to take life one day at a time and be joyful about it.” At 78, Sutherland credits Tai Chi with giving her strong legs, improved circulation, and preventing high blood pressure. She’s been able to regularly teach at the Society’s classes despite suffering from macular degeneration, which makes her legally blind. “If there’s something I really need to see, I get close enough,” she adds.

Perhaps most remarkable is that Sutherland first tried out Tai Chi at 64, and now she teaches others how to improve their quality of life through the classes.

Click here to see what classes they have available in British Columbia.

One response to “Tai Chi keeps you moving

  1. Tai Chi came into my life 12 years ago when I turned left at a junction instead of right..it gave me the path I’m on now as a 60 year old Personal Trainer and Tai Chi instructor..It has given me back my strength,flexibility,focus and livlihood..and I’m only scrathing the surface still..Enjoy

Leave a comment